What’s Personality got to do with it?

apparently, EVERYTHING

Each person responds differently to different sitautions. Some are sunshine and roses while others (ME) always expect the worst…

In Mary Kay we rely on the DISC Personality test to tell us which of the four quadrants we fall in and how we related to the world and to each other– here’s a brief, albeit scientific synopsis:

DISC is an acronym for:

  • Dominance – relating to control, power and assertiveness
  • Influence – relating to social situations and communication
  • Steadiness – relating to patience, persistence, and thoughtfulness
  • Conscientiousness  – relating to structure and organization

DISC proponents believe that characteristics of behavior can be grouped into these four major “behavior styles” and they tend to exhibit specific characteristics common to that particular style. All individuals possess all four, but what differs from one to another is the extent of each.

For most, these types are seen in shades of grey rather than black or white, and within that, there is an interplay of behaviors, otherwise known as blends. The determination of such blends starts with the primary (or stronger) type, followed by the secondary (or lesser) type, although all contribute more than just purely the strength of that “signal”.

Each of these personality types has its own unique value to the team, ideal environment, general characteristics, what the individual is motivated by, and value to team.

These four dimensions can be grouped in a grid with “D” and “I” sharing the top row and representing extroverted aspects of the personality, and “C” and “S” below representing introverted aspects. “D” and “C” then share the left column and represent task-focused aspects, and “I” and “S” share the right column and represent social aspects.

  • Dominance: People who score high in the intensity of the “D” styles factor are very active in dealing with problems and challenges, while low “D” scores are people who want to do more research before committing to a decision. High “D” people are described as demanding, forceful, egocentric, strong willed, driving, determined, ambitious, aggressive, and pioneering. Low D scores describe those who are conservative, low keyed, cooperative, calculating, undemanding, cautious, mild, agreeable, modest and peaceful.
  • Influence: People with high “I” scores influence others through talking and activity and tend to be emotional. They are described as convincing, magnetic, political, enthusiastic, persuasive, warm, demonstrative, trusting, and optimistic. Those with low “I” scores influence more by data and facts, and not with feelings. They are described as reflective, factual, calculating, skeptical, logical, suspicious, matter of fact, pessimistic, and critical.
  • Steadiness: People with high “S” styles scores want a steady pace, security, and do not like sudden change. High “S” individuals are calm, relaxed, patient, possessive, predictable, deliberate, stable, consistent, and tend to be unemotional and poker faced. Low “S” intensity scores are those who like change and variety. People with low “S” scores are described as restless, demonstrative, impatient, eager, or even impulsive.
  • Conscientiousness: People with high “C” styles adhere to rules, regulations, and structure. They like to do quality work and do it right the first time. High “C” people are careful, cautious, exacting, neat, systematic, diplomatic, accurate, and tactful. Those with low “C” scores challenge the rules and want independence and are described as self-willed, stubborn, opinionated, unsystematic, arbitrary, and unconcerned with details

Those who know me will tell you that without a doubt I am a “D”.

I take problems head on, the “bull-by-the-horns” mentality.

I listen, very well.

I do better when I have a task to accomplish.

I am motivated best by action and results. Without results I will stop and move on.

I like rules and abide by them.

Relationships with others are good to have, but I do not give them priority.

I am a social person, preferring to be around people, but also want to be left in solitude to complete a task.

I want to know as much as possible about any possible scenario, which means I ask a lot of questions, before I will ever commit to a decision, but I do make decisions quickly

I am seen as demanding, when in reality I only hold people to the exact same standard I hold myself= perfection

When I fall short of perfection I am my very worst critic, I become very angry at and disappointed in myself.

I have emotions, but it takes a great deal to bring them out. I am very good at showing anger.

I am determined, strong-willed, stubborn, ambitious and I am learning to be less aggressive and more assertive.

This is me and my personality. I get things done- on-time, in the most correct manner, but am very critical of myself.

I do not play well with “I” personalities who would rather talk than listen but love the “S” men and women who are concerned with keeping the status quo in tact.

One thought on “What’s Personality got to do with it?

  1. Pingback: I do not like Failure « ajourneythroughmarykay

Leave a Reply

