Leadership

“One of the most reliable indicators and predictors of true leadership is an individual’s ability to find meaning in negative events and to learn from even the most trying circumstances… The skills required to conquer adversity and emerge stronger and more committee than ever are the same ones that make for extraordinary leaders.”

Warren G. Bennis and Robert J. Thomas, “Crucibles of Leadership.” Harvard Business Review (80,9), p.39

 

 

 

So does this mean that all the storms I’ve lived through in the last year are setting me up for leadership?? Possibly…

It has taken time and guidance but I have been able to find the good in every bad, to see the light at the end of the tunnels, to look for the meaning for every circumstance, both positive and negative.

Am I ready to be a formal leader yet? Probably not. I am not ready to shoulder the responsibility of someone needing me yet, not in a formal way. I am ok with providing solicited advice to friends and loved ones, but not with an entire group of folks.

This is probably why I have not advanced to the point of Mary Kay Directorship. I still have too much to learn before that, and if the past is any indicator, too many more storms to survive. I must learn all of my lessons the hard way, but I think that makes the stick. One who suffers pain to gain the needed insight NEVER forgets that insight. Story.Of.My.Life.

Leave a Reply

