Opportunities

Now that all of this is completely public– read this: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/victor-lopez/guilford-college-board-of_b_5095179.html?utm_hp_ref=college&ir=College

(thanks for reading)

I’ve spent 3.5 years working with this woman and this article comes a NO surprise to me.

Jane is a fantastic woman, understanding, hard working, never asking anyone to do anything she will not do herself, an excellent listener, always working to learn first- judge second, a master at solving disputes, the giver of a kind reprimand, and all due praise. I couldn’t ask for a better person to work for.

The writer of this particular article seems to be a current student at Guilford college and I agree with him. Jane is an excellent speaker, she can captivate an audience and keep them on the edge of their seats wondering what she will say next. And I have heard her many times say “I don’t know but I will find out” in a public meeting and she really does find out- most the time that very afternoon! She strives for excellent communication, and plays well by the rules of our university, the university system, and the state. She is not afraid to take a stand when needed but she always wants to hear all sides of the story before making any decisions. She fully understands the power she has here but does not use it to harm others. She is able to withstand the constant pressure of being a Provost, the most thankless job on a university campus with the trouble coming from all directions- students, staff, faculty, the administration, the system, the state, the budget cuts. I mean you name it and it happens to the Provost, but through all of it she still holds her head up and smiles and comes back to work the next day with renewed determination to do whatever it takes to see that UNC Asheville is successful in our mission to educate our students.

As for what will happen at Guilford– I can only speculate that she will be their next President and I cannot think of a more deserving or well-suited person for that role. She will endeavor to serve the university to the very best of her ability, she will work tirelessly for the good of all connected with the university, and she will, in time, create the environment of compassion for one another that it seems Guilford desires.

 

I know I am only one voice in the crowd, and as with all folks who are brave enough to have taken a stand in the past, Jane has her dissenters and they will be very likely to disagree with me, such is their right, but I am confident down to my bones that Jane IS the President Guilford College has been searching for. I just hope for her sake that the Board sees the writing on the wall in the way this young writer has seen it!

 

As for me- I cannot be selfish. I have been extremely lucky to have the opportunity to work with her for this time. I have learned and I have grown immensely under her leadership, and I consider her  much more than a boss, but should she feel that Guilford is the place she should be and Presidency is the role she should take, I will send her off with tears but many many many well wishes and only hope that Guilford College will endeavor to be deserving of such a wonderful and dedicated leader.

(the tears are starting to come as I write this… I will miss her if she leaves, a part of me wishes I could just pack up and go with her– she’s been that great to work for)

 

And now we wait. The final candidate interviewed Monday and I’ll bet the Board members are still receiving feedback from campus and others so deliberations are underway, the waiting, and all of its emotions, is the hardest part…

 

 

Leave a Reply

