My own t-shirt quilt

Making t-shirt quilts is my specialty and I really enjoy making them for other people. They are very powerful reminders of memories and love from past events and I watch the people who choose me to make their quilt lovingly hand over their possessions and trust me to make them something beautiful from them. I do not take that trust lightly. I’ve seen a mother in tears as she handed me her late son’s belongings.

While I a working with these clothes I never let myself forget just how important they are to the people who gave them to me. I never let myself forget that my job is to take clothes that hold so many memories and create something new that will hold many more memories.

 

The best part are the photos of the owners using their new quilt and then the stories I hear of that use. It makes me both humble and proud to know that something I made with time and love is being used again 🙂

Here I have 20 t-shirts from my college days both my alma mater that taught me so much, and from Alpha Xi Delta that taught me even more. I’ve had them packed up for nearly two years since our move to Florida, literally in the same vacuum bag in a closet but I have not yet been able to bring myself to cut them for my own quilt…

 

So don’t worry friends and future customers, I KNOW just how hard it is to let go of those items of clothing, I can’t bring myself to do it either.

2016 will be my year to make my own t-shirt quilt, I have even washed the t-shirts, the cutting will come later. ❤

 

 

Leave a Reply

